Top 100 trial Lawyers - The National Trial Lawyers Badge
Clients' Choice 2015 - Avvo Badge
General Member - National College for DUI Defense Badge
10.0 Superb Top Attorney Criminal Defense - Avvo Rating Badge
AV Preeminent Peer Review Rating - Martindale-Hubbell Badge


Answers from Chicago DUI Lawyer

Were you arrested for a driving under the influence? It is important that you act quickly to retain the legal counsel of a trusted and highly experienced criminal defense attorney. Chicago DUI Attorney Fred Mark Dry stands ready to provide you with aggressive legal counsel in your time of need. He has more than 40 years of experience practicing law in Illinois and knows how to help you. If you have questions regarding your future that you do not find answered in this frequently asked questions section, then do not hesitate to contact Fred Mark Dry today and schedule a case evaluation as soon as possible.

Contents Q: If an Accident with Fatality is Ruled Unavoidable in a Civil Court is It an Aggravated DUI Then Cause Small Amount Meth in Blood Test?

A: In Illinois, having a detectable amount of a controlled substance in your blood while driving a motor vehicle is a misdemeanor violation of the law. Without an accident involving significant injury or death it would be charged as a misdemeanor. When those or other aggravating factors are present, it can be charged as a felony. To prove DUI/DWI Drugs, the government is only required to prove that you were operating a motor vehicle while you had any amount of a controlled substance in your system. It is not related to having an accident or being impaired in the operation of a vehicle. The accident was what prompted your contact with the police. Depending on other circumstances and recent Illinois case law (e.g.: People of Illinois v. Jake Armer), the results of testing may be successfully challenged and kept from being used against you (evidence suppression).

Back to Top

Q: 'Failure Yield Authorized Emergency Vehicle' 11-907(A)(1)'. Can I Contest This Ticket With Valid NJ License?

A: You have every right to contest any traffic ticket regardless of where you live or where you got the ticket. If the case goes to trial, the judge will decide who is believable and rule accordingly.

It does not sound like you failed to yield.

Back to Top

Q: Second DUI in 9 Years is There a Way to Plea Bargain with State Attorney?!

A: A failed breath test does not guarantee that a conviction will follow. Sometimes there are ways to effectively challenge the admissibility of a breath test or the result it provides. If convicted of DUI, your driver’s privilege will be revoked and there is a possible jail sentence of up to one year. The maximum possible fine is $2,500.00 plus court costs. A jail sentence is unlikely in your situation unless there is some aggravation beyond the offense itself. The breath test failure is subject to challenge. If the challenge is not successful, your driver’s license will be suspended for six months. If the breath test suspension is successfully challenged and you beat the DUI, your driver’s privilege should not be affected after the resolution of the case.

Back to Top

Q: I was Found Not Guilty on One DUI and the Other was Dismissed by the States Attorney in Illinois, Are These Seal-Able?

A: A DUI which is dismissed or beaten at trial can be expunged or sealed.

Back to Top

Q: I Got a DUI 4 Years Ago and I Completed Court Ordered Alcohol Assessment Classes

A: You have a right to another hearing, if you lost your driver’s privilege because of a DUI conviction. In Illinois, it will likely need to be a formal hearing where the presence of an attorney can make a difference. If it was a first DUI and the disposition was Supervision, the driver’s license should not be revoked. You should consult with an attorney.

Back to Top

Q: Got an Underage Drinking Ticket Instead of a DUI, Could DUI be Brought up at Court?

A: New charges arising out of any situation may be added during the pendency of a case until the expiration of the statute of limitations. In Illinois, the statute of limitations is eighteen months for a misdemeanor. DUI can be misdemeanor or felony. As far as being questioned by the Judge, it is unlikely as you have the right to remain silent, unless you are entering a plea. The resolution of each case is dependent upon the specific circumstances and the nature of the person accused. Sometimes a Minor in Possession of Alcohol case is prosecuted under a village code and sometimes under state law. The possible penalties are not identical. If a lawyer is in court with you, your right to remain silent should be protected and a better outcome is more likely than if you represent yourself.

Back to Top

Q: Level 3 Dependent and Can't Get to an AA or Another Like Meeting

A: If you completed everything the court asked of you, unless you were at Evaluation level 3 (Alcoholic), I do not understand why you need the AA meetings for reinstatement. However, assuming that AA is something you need, AA or a satisfactory substitute need to be found. If you feel there was some error in the original evaluation level, we can review it and see if the conclusion is supported by the facts they gathered, some of which you provided. Even if you are at Level 3, you may have a reasonable case for reinstatement, based on the things you mention. There are ways to try to corroborate a person’s claim of sobriety. The best way to proceed is to contact a skilled DUI defense attorney to review the facts and circumstances of your case. That attorney should evaluate whether or not your circumstances would satisfy the Secretary of State regulations for reinstatement. In this type of case, I always review those regulations in my office with my client.

Back to Top

Q: Do I Need to Submit to a Sobriety Test?

A: If you are asked by an officer to submit to a field sobriety test or a portable breath test it is completely legal to refuse without consequence. There is much controversy over these tests and whether they actually prove intoxication. Refusing either the Portable Breath Test or Field Sobriety tests will deprive the officer of evidence to use against you. In the state of Illinois, you must adhere to a chemical test, if you have been arrested for DUI, even if you are sober. Breath and blood tests are designed to help determine how much alcohol is in your blood.

Back to Top

Q: Will I be Arrested if I do Not Submit to a Test?

A: If you refuse a chemical test, your license will be suspended 46 days after your arrest. You may have the chance to contest your license suspension, however, by working with an attorney who can aggressively defend your driving privileges at a court hearing. If your license is revoked you need a DMV hearing.

Back to Top

Q: Can I Retain My Driver's License?

A: After an arrest or a DUI charge, you will be able to defend your driving privileges at a DMV hearing. This hearing is separate from your criminal hearing and is simply an administrative hearing that will determine the status of your license.

Back to Top

Q: Will I be Sent to Jail?

A: If you are charged and convicted of a misdemeanor DUI, then you could be sent to jail to serve a maximum sentence of 364 days. With the help of an attorney, however, you may be able to get your charges and / or sentence greatly reduced.

Back to Top

Q: What Will Happen to My Car?

A: Your car will be impounded after an arrest, depending on where you are arrested. This impounding can be expensive, but once it is paid, you will be able to receive your car again.

Back to Top

Q: For How Long Will I Lose My License?

A: Depending on prior offenses, your license suspension based on the breath test may vary. First-time offenders will lose their license for a minimum of 6 months, while repeat offenders could lose their license for up to 3 years.

Back to Top

Q: What Should I Tell an Officer Who Asks if I Have Been Drinking?

A: You are not required to speak with a police officer until you speak with an attorney. You are protected under the law, and if you refuse to speak with an officer, you will not be prosecuted for your silence. Just inform them that you will not speak until you get a chance to consult an attorney first. If you are being asked it is likely because the officer smells alcohol; it is best not to lie.

Back to Top

Q: What is the Legal Blood Alcohol Content in Illinois?

A: The state of Illinois recognizes 0.08% blood alcohol content as being intoxicated. You can be charged with a DUI for anything equal to or above this level.

Back to Top

Q: I Received Court Supervision for a DUI When I was 17 in Illinois, I am Now 27 and Want to Know if the Record can be Sealed?

A: No expungement or file sealing is allowed following a disposition of Supervision on a DUI, Reckless Driving except if it happened before age 25,and several other offenses, including, but not limited to most sex offenses, minor traffic violations, misdemeanor offenses against animals. However, Expungements may be obtained for felony charges reduced to misdemeanors, if the misdemeanor offense is one for which Expungements are otherwise allowed. 20 ILCS 2630/5.2(a)3(A); (B); (C); (D)

Back to Top

Q: I Live in Illinois and Have Been Denied My License Re-In Statement due to Two Prior DWAI Convictions in Colorado?!

A: Drivers are generally unable to get an Illinois Driver’s License following the commission of four DUI offenses. This is true regardless of where they occurred. Most DUI sentences require counseling and/or treatment. This type of treatment is usually a necessary step in reinstating a driver’s privilege. The Secretary of State will consider whether all conditions of a DUI sentence were completed, including treatment and education. Most people will need to go through these programs to help them understand their own situation and how the Secretary of State perceives drivers with DUI issues. Thereafter, when working with their lawyer they can more easily understand how to present themselves when seeking reinstatement from the Secretary of State. The Secretary of State can issue a Restricted Driver’s Permit to allow driving for work purposes as an interim step to full reinstatement. 625 ILCS 5/6-208(b)4

Back to Top

Q: What Happens if You are Caught Driving on a Revoked License?

A: Driving on a Revoked License is usually a misdemeanor, but can be charged as a felony. Driving While Revoked is most often charged as a felony when the revocation is based on a DUI conviction. Jail sentences are the harshest possible penalty for Driving While Revoked, whether the case is a misdemeanor or felony. Supervision is available for first offenders.

Back to Top

If you still have questions regarding your situation and how working with a dedicated Cook County defense lawyer can benefit you and your case, then contact Fred Mark Dry today. Your future is important, and by scheduling a case evaluation, you can begin working on a path toward ensuring your freedom.

Client Reviews
Fred recently represented me in a recent serious traffic situation. He was always on top of things and was very thorough and knowledgeable of the law. I am happy he was there in the court room and had my back. A significant favorable outcome was the end result! Robert
Mr. Dry is a very knowledgeable, confident lawyer. He was always true to his word and constantly communicated updates throughout the case procedure. He's personable, punctual, and professional at all times. I would highly recommend Mr. Dry and would definitely use him again to represent me. Mike
Fred Dry did a very nice job in court for me. I don’t feel comfortable around most lawyers, but I was very comfortable around Fred. He is honest and knows his way around the court room. I was impressed with his services and would highly recommend him to anyone. Jimmy